Please note the following in regard to Pennsylvania License to Carry Applications:
1. We accept them Monday-Friday 10am-4pm
2. We are located on the the 4th Floor of the Erie County Courthouse 140 West 6th Street Erie, Pa 16501
3. You MUST appear in person, please DO NOT mail in applications.
4.. The cost is twenty-dollars in CASH ONLY.
Erie County Sheriffs' Office
Erie County Sheriff's Office
Forms available for download in PDF format:
All PA applicants are required to have a valid Pennsylvania Drivers License or a Government Issued Photo ID and must pay a a fee of $20.00 (cash only) at the time the application is submitted.
Non-Residents are required to have a drivers license from where they reside and a Valid Carrying Permit from their perspective State. The fee is also $20.00 (cash only) at the time the application.
All applications MUST have two references with their name, address and contact information.
A photo will be taken at that time.
By State Law, the Sheriff of Erie County has the responsibility to process all applications for a license to carry firearms and to issue licenses to all those applicants who qualify, based on a background investigation done by the Sheriff's Office. The Sheriff also licenses all firearms dealers in Erie County. All licenses are processed through Pennsylvania Instant Check System. Once an application for license to carry is filed, the Sheriff has 45 days in which to do the investigation and notify the applicant. The permit is valid for 5 years. The Sheriff has the ability to revoke the license at anytime for misuse.
The Erie County Sheriff issues approximately 6,774 Licenses to Carry Firearms in 2017.
Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM.
This office is committed to do everything it can to promote firearm safety.
For more information on firearms licensing and safety, phone the Firearms Division at (814) 451-7444.