Welcome to Erie County Planning

County Approval Process Guide

Process Guide For Subdivision And Land Development Plans Requiring County Approval

The Erie County Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance applies for plans located in the following municipalities:

Amity Township LeBoeuf Township
Concord Township Platea Borough
Cranesville Borough Union Township  
Elgin Borough Wattsburg Borough
Elk Creek Township Wayne Township
Mill Village Borough Conneaut Township 

This guide is not intended to supersede or replace the Erie County Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance(SALDO). Plans must comply with all applicable requirements of the ordinance. If you have any questions, or need additional information, please call the Erie County Department of Planning at (814) 451 6336.

The following steps should be carried out in the order presented.

  1. A pre-application consultation and/or sketch plan submission to the Erie County Department of Planning is recommended, but is not required.
  2. A preliminary plan, if required, must be approved prior to submission of a final plan. Preliminary plans are not required for minor subdivisions and replots (lot line changes).
  3. No final plan shall be signed by the Erie County Department of Planning until a determination is made whether sewage facility planning and approval is necessary.


    a)    For proposals in areas with on-lot sewage disposal options, submit two copies of the survey plan to the Erie County Department of Health, Environmental Services. A determination will be made whether a local waiver to sewage planning is appropriate or if DEP approval is necessary.

    b)    For proposals in areas with public sewers, the municipality will determine whether any proposed sewage flows can be accommodated by a local tap-in or whether DEP approval, waiver or exception is necessary.

  4. Plans must be prepared by a licensed surveyor.
    1. The sheet size for final plans must be 18” x 24”.
    2. Plans must be signed & sealed by surveyor.
    3. Plans must be signed & notarized by owner(s).
    4. One mylar and seven paper copies will be required.
  5. Submit the mylar and 5 copies to the municipal governing body for its review and signatures.
  6. Submit the mylar and 4 copies to the Erie County Department of Planning for its approval and signatures.
  7. Submit 3 copies of the approved survey (at least one copy must have original signatures) to the Erie County Recorder of Deeds. This must be done within 90 days of county approval.

Printable versionPdf

Erie County Courthouse - 140 West Sixth Street, Erie, PA 16501 - (814) 451-6000 - TDD Phone: (814) 451-6237 - Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 4:30pm
Contact Us - Department Listing